top of page

Bioethics Centres

The field of bioethics is burgeoning in Canada. The following is a listing of academic centres with primary or significant activity in the area of bioethics in Canada.

Suggestions for additions or corrections are welcome.

British Columbia

University of British Columbia W. Maurice Young Centre for Applied Ethics

David Silver, Acting Director


University of Victoria Centre for Studies in Religion and Society

Paul Bramadat, Director


Covenant Health Ethics Centre

Caitlin Congdon, Ethics Centre Administrator


University of Alberta Health Law Institute

Tracey Bailey, Executive Director


University of Alberta Institute of Health Economics

Egon Jonsson, Executive Director


University of Alberta John Dossetor Health Ethics Centre

Paul Byrne, Director

University of Calgary Office of Medical Bioethics

Stacey Page, Chair  


University of Regina International Healthcare Ethics Research Team

David Malloy, Professor & Principal Investigator 


University of Manitoba Centre for Professional and Applied Ethics

Arthur Schafer, Director


Lakehead University Centre for Health Care Ethics

McMaster University Centre for Ethics in Health Care

Lisa Schwartz, Chair


Queen's University Office of Bioethics

Cheryl Cline, Director

Saint Paul University Ethics Centre

Denis Desautels, Corporate Director


University of Toronto Joint Centre for Bioethics

Jennifer L. Gibson, Interim Director

University of Western Ontario Schulich School of Medicine Dentistry Medical Ethics and Humanities Department

Jeff Nisker, Coordinator


York University Centre for Practical Ethics


McGill University Biomedical Ethics Unit 

Jonathan Kimmelman, Director  


McGill University Centre of Genomics and Public Policy

Bartha Knoppers, Professor


Universite de Montreal Centre de Recherche en Droit

Manon Boyer, Administrative Director


Universite de Montreal Centre de Bioéthique

Bryn Williams-Jones, Directeur


Universite du Quebec a Rimouski Ethos Research Group

Michel Fortier, Director


Universite Laval Groupe de Recherche en Éthique Médicale et Environnementale

Louis-Étienne Pigeon, Chair

Nova Scotia

Dalhousie University Department of Bioethics

Christy Simpson, Head

Dalhousie University Health Law Institute

Constance MacIntosh, Director

Novel Tech Ethics

Françoise Baylis, Head

Newfoundland and Labrador

Memorial University Bioethics Group

Jennifer Flynn, Director

bottom of page